Latest News‎ > ‎

Six Odyssey of the Mind Teams Take Part In Saturday Meet

posted Mar 12, 2014, 6:04 AM by Seth Cole   [ updated Mar 19, 2014, 5:54 AM ]
The Shapleigh School sent six teams to Saturday's Odyssey of the Mind Discovery Regional Tournament at Biddeford High School. Five of the teams performed well enough to advance to the 2014 State Tournament on March 29 at Thomas College in Waterville. For more information, visit

One Shapleigh team - named "It's How We Rule" - took first place in Division II. That team consists of: Emma Ackerman, Sydney Auclair, Cameron Brayne, Julia Campion, Elias Matso, Nichole Roberts and Molly Stites. That team is coached by Kristi Mathieson and Katherine Peternell.

Another Shapleigh Division II team - named "Driver's Test" - also earned first place. That team is made up of: Killian Campbell, Braeden Cole, Madelyn Battcock-Emerson, Jonah Matso, Jayce Nielsen, Henry O'Shaughnessy and Jayna Wheeler. This team is coached by Jane Bard and Jodie Nielsen.

"Stackable Structure", made up of sixth and eighth graders, earned yet another first place in Division II. That team consists of: Sam Battcock-Emerson, Mack D'Angelo, Jacob Gagner, Cole Gilbert, Emma O'Shaughnessy, Cameron Webb and Stephen Whitney. This team is coached by Cecilia Gagner and Steve Gilbert.

Another Shapleigh team of fifth graders, named "The Not-So-Haunted House", won third place in Division I. That team consists of: Claire Barbour, Meredith Chase, Annika Huntress, Kathleen McPherson, Cooper Salema and Finnian Shea. Coaches for this Division 1 team are Kim Storm and Gillian Tierney.

The other Division I team includes: Yolanda Ares, Gillian Brayne, Julia Durling, Nora Gilbert, Colin Martin and Seamus Reeve. This team is coached by Jessica Brayne and Anne Gilbert.

Shapleigh's fourth Division II team consists of: Elias Adams, Jeremy Clifford, Kaleb Roth, Will Scholes and Harper Shea. This team is coached by Jeff Clifford and Dianne Fallon.